There really is something for everyone and Saltgate House is the perfect place to stay and take advantage of it all. Click on the toggles below to view more information:

Local Beaches

Southwold, Walberswick, Pakefield, Lowestoft, Aldeburgh, Dunwich, Sizewell, Thorpness and Great Yarmouth are all fine examples of local beaches worth visiting.

The Broads

Beccles is the ‘Gateway to the Broads’enjoythebroads.com

Walking

With areas of outstanding natural beauty diverse landscapes.
Suffolk Walking Festival, 9-31 May 2015 – suffolkwalkingfestival.co.uk
Angles way – 93 mile walking trail following the Suffolk/Norfolk border gently meandering from Great Yarmouth to Thetford – discoversuffolk.org.uk
Sandlings walkbritishwalks.org

Cycling

Beccles is on the National Cycle Network 1 – National Route 1
Regional routes 30 and 31, all these routes converge in Beccles.
sustrans.org.uk

Good Places To Shop

Beccles – vibrant market town with distinctive independent shops, including several family owned butchers, green grocers and fishmongers and an international gunsmiths!
Southwold – Charming Sea side town offering up market boutiques selling international brands and the heart of Adnams brewery shops.
Bungay – Earsham street boasts interesting shops with many antique and vintage shops.
Aldeburgh – Fabulous boutiques, book shops and delis.
Norwich – City shopping boasting major department stores and incredible independent shops too.

Golf Clubs

Beccles Common Golf Club – club-noticeboard.co.uk/becclesgc
Bungay & Waveney Golf Club – club-noticeboard.co.uk/bungay
Rookery Park Golf Club – rookeryparkgolfclub.co.uk
Halesworth Golf Club – halesworthgolf.co.uk

Boat Hire / Sailing

Beccles is an ideal base for sailing, located on the river Waveney and in close proximity to the sea offers numerous boat hire companies, sailing schools and yacht clubs.
ccmarinebeccles.co.uk
hippersons.co.uk
waveneyrivercentre.co.uk
lowestoftcruisingclub.co.uk

Heritage & Gardens

Somerleyton Hall & Gardens – somerleyton.co.uk
Ickworth Park & Gardens – nationaltrust.org.uk/ickworth
Framlingham Castle – english-heritage.org.uk
Orford Castle – english-heritage.co.uk
Norwich Castle – museums.norfolk.gov.uk
Sutton Hoo – suttonhoo.org
Henstead Exotic gardens – hensteadexoticgarden.co.uk
Flixton Aviation Museum – aviationmuseum.net

Bird Watching

The River Waveney is a fabulous arena for bird watching right on our doorstep.
Minsmere Reserve – rspb.org.uk/minsmere
Cley Marshes – cleybirdclub.org.uk
Blyth Estuary – thesuffolkcoast.co.uk
Dunwich Heath – nationaltrust.org.uk/dunwich-heath-and-beach
Hevergate Island – rspb.org.uk/Havergate_Island‎
North Warren – rspb.org.uk/North_Warren‎
Orford Ness – nationaltrust.org.uk/orfordness
Sizewell Belts – wildlifetrusts.org/reserves/sizewell-belts
Walberswick – explorewalberswick.co.uk
Suffolks National Nature Reserves – gov.uk/suffolks-national-nature-reserves

Fishing

Fabulous opportunities for both sea and river fishing – lovebeccles.co.uk

Farmers Markets

Beccles – 1st & 3rd Saturday of every month from 9am to 1pm @ Beccles Heliport
Loddon – 2nd & 4th Saturday of every month from 9:30am to 1pm @ Jubilee Hall
Halesworth – 2nd Saturday of every month
Snape – 1st Saturday of every month @ Snape Maltings
Woodbridge – 2nd & 4th Saturday of every month @ Woodbridge Community Centre

Antique Markets

Beccles, Bungay and Halesworth offer the occasional antique market. Ask about the next one.

Literary & Arts Festivals

Aldeburgh Literary Festival – aldeburghbookshop.co.uk
Suffolk Poetry Society Summer Festival – suffolkpoetrysociety.org.uk
Bury St. Edmunds Festival – buryfestival.co.uk
Felixstowe Book Festival – felixstowebookfestival.co.uk
Latitude Festival – latitudefestival.com
The High Tide Festival, Aldeburgh – hightide.org.uk
Literary Ipswich – ip-lit.co.uk
Flipside Festival Snape – flipsidefestival.co.uk
Halesworth Arts Festival – halesworthartsfestival.org.uk
Aldeburgh Poetry Festival – thepoetrytrust.org/festival/programme
Lavenham Literary Festival – lavenhamliteraryfestival.co.uk
Ways With Words, Southwold – wayswithwords.co.uk/festivals/southwold

Theme Parks

Africa Alive – africa-alive.co.uk
Pleasurewood Hills – pleasurewoodhills.com
Oasis Camel Park – oasiscamelpark.co.uk
Great Yarmouth Pleasure Beach – pleasure-beach.co.uk